### **MINUTES**

Nebraska Environmental Trust Grants Committee Meeting Wednesday, December 13, 2023 1:00 p.m.

#### 1. Call to Order

Committee Chairman Mr. Andersen called the Grants Committee meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. in Suite 310 at 2077 N St, Lincoln, Nebraska.

Advanced notice of the meeting was published in the Lincoln Journal Star on December 10, 2023. The agenda and documents to be considered at the meeting were provided. The Open Meetings Act was posted near the meeting room entrance and on the Nebraska Environmental Trust website.

Roll call was conducted, and a quorum was present.

# Members Present (4):

District I: Mr. Jeff Kanger, Lincoln.

District II: Mr. Felix Davidson, Valley; Mr. Mark Quandahl, Omaha.

District III: Committee Chairman Mr. Josh Andersen, Edgar.

## Members Absent (2):

**State Agency Representative:** Ms. Sherry Vinton, Director, Nebraska Department of Agriculture; Mr. Jim Macy, Director, Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy.

#### **Staff Present:**

Mr. Karl Elmshaeuser, Executive Director; Ms. Holly Adams, Grants Administrator; Ms. Madison Moe, Grants Assistant.

### 2. Public Comment

None.

## 3. Approval of October 11, 2023, Grants Committee meeting minutes

**Motion by** Mr. Davidson, seconded by Mr. Kanger, "I move to approve the October 11, 2023, Grants Committee meeting minutes."

Discussion: None.

Voting Aye: Davidson, Kanger, Quandahl, Andersen

4 Voted Aye. Motion carried.

- 4. Grants Committee Determinations and Recommendations for Funding for 2024 Grant Applications That Were Previously Deemed Eligible by the NET Board at the November 2, 2023 Board Meeting
  - a. Projects Scored and Sorted by Score Through Ranking Systems Process Defined on August 3, 2023 NET Meeting

Grants Administrator Ms. Holly Adams went over the documentation provided to the Grants Committee members and noted that – due to the cap on the amount of administration funding – some of the requested funding totals had been reduced accordingly. Discussion centered around

the best way for the Grants Committee to establish a cutline for those grant applications that should be considered for available funding.

**Motion by** Mr. Davidson, seconded by Mr. Kanger, "I make a motion that grant applications must have 25 points or more to be considered for available funding. Applicants will be contacted and must affirm their ability to meet the Administration funding limitation and Cash Match requirements by 5:00 pm central time on December 28, 2023, to be approved by the full NET Board on January 4, 2024, or the next ranked grant will be recommended for award as funding is available."

**Discussion:** Discussion centered around a 25-point cut line based on the overall scores, average, and standard deviation. At the 25-point line available funding will cease at a higher score. If a grant applicant is unable to affirm their ability to meet the Administration funding limitation and/or Cash Match requirement, the next highest scoring applicant would be considered. No applications at or below 25 points will be considered for funding.

**Voting Aye:** Kanger, Quandahl, Davidson, Andersen **4 Voted Aye. Motion carried.** 

Motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. Kanger, "I move that the Grants Committee recommends to the Chairman of the NET Board to establish an Ad Hoc Committee as allowed in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-15,173(7) to assist the Executive Director in developing a ranking system as described in Title 137 Chapter 6, to meet the requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-15,175(2) and to be completed by March 29, 2024. There should be three members on the committee from each of the Congressional Districts, Jeff Kanger-District 1, Mark Quandahl-District 2, and Josh Andersen-District 3."

**Discussion:** Committee Chairman Mr. Andersen made note of the fact that this is a positive part of NET's on-going process improvement efforts.

**Voting Aye:** Kanger, Quandahl, Davidson, Andersen **4 Voted Aye. Motion carried.** 

# 5. Next Meeting

The next Grants Committee meeting date has yet to be determined.

## 6. Adjourn

Committee Chairman Andersen adjourned the meeting at 1:41 p.m.

Karl L. Elmshaeuser, Executive Director