MINUTES

Nebraska Environmental Trust Grants Committee Meeting Thursday, October 13, 2022 1:30 PM

1. Call to Order

The virtual and on-site Grants Committee Meeting held at 700 S 16th Street, Lincoln, Nebraska, was called to order by Chairman Davidson at 1:30 PM.

Advanced notice of the meeting was published in the Lincoln Journal Star on September 12, 2022. The meeting agenda and documents were provided. The Open Meetings Act was posted at the meeting room entrance and on the Board website.

Roll call was conducted, and a quorum was present.

Members present (5):

District I: Mr. Jeff Kanger, Lincoln. **District II:** Mr. Felix Davidson, Valley; Mr. Mark Quandahl, Omaha. **State Agency Representatives:** Jim Macy, Director, Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy; Mr. Tim McCoy, Director, Nebraska Game & Parks Commission

Members absent (1):

District III: Josh Andersen, Edgar

Staff present:

Mr. Karl Elmshaeuser, Executive Director; Ms. Holly Adams, Grants Administrator; Ms. Sandra Weaver, Administrative Specialist

2. Public Comment

Ms. Sandy Scofield, Friends of the Nebraska Environmental Trust, expressed concerns about the grant eligibility list and process.

Mr. Bob Wickersham, Friends of the Nebraska Environmental Trust, expressed concerns about the grant eligibility process.

3. Approval of September 22, 2022, Grants Committee meeting minutes

Motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. McCoy, "I move to approve the September 22, 2022, Grants Committee meeting minutes."

Discussion: None.

Voting Aye: Kanger, Macy, McCoy, Quandahl, Davidson

Absent: Andersen

5 Voted Aye. Motion carried.

4. Determination of eligibility of applications for grant funding

Executive Director Elmshaeuser reported an upgrade to the Grants Portal required each grant applicant to respond to twelve eligibility criteria questions. The evaluators could review the applicant's responses and links to the applicable statutes and rules and regulations. Applicants are required to meet all twelve eligibility criteria. A minimum of four reviewers must deem the project eligible before it is reviewed by the Environmental Trust Board as was approved by the Grants Committee at their September 22, 2022, meeting prior to the review of applications.

Motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. Macy, "I move that the following selected applications from the list on the provided spreadsheet to be eligible for ranking this year: 23-115, 23-131, 23-136, 23-113, 23-114, 23-122, 23-123, 23-127, 23-138, 23-140, 23-149, 23-152, 23-162, 23-164, 23-166, 23-169, 23-183, 23-186, 23-107, 23-108, 23-111, 23-121, 23-125, 23-132, 23-134, 23-135, 23-141, 23-142, 23-146, 23-148, 23-150, 23-151, 23-154, 23-155, 23-156, 23-158, 23-159, 23-167, 23-170, 23-171, 23-172, and 23-180.

Prior to Discussion: Mr. McCoy requested amending the motion to remove applications 23-138, 23-170, and 23-172, since they were sponsored by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

Chairman Davidson receiving no further objection or discussion, called for a vote on the amended motion.

Amended motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. Macy, "I move that the following selected applications from the list on the provided spreadsheet to be eligible for ranking this year: 23-115, 23-131, 23-136, 23-113, 23-114, 23-122, 23-123, 23-127, 23-140, 23-149, 23-152, 23-162, 23-164, 23-166, 23-169, 23-183, 23-186, 23-107, 23-108, 23-111, 23-121, 23-125, 23-132, 23-134, 23-135, 23-141, 23-142, 23-146, 23-148, 23-150, 23-151, 23-154, 23-155, 23-156, 23-158, 23-159, 23-167, 23-171, and 23-180.

Voting Aye: Kanger, Macy, McCoy, Quandahl, Davidson

Absent: Andersen

5 Voted Aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. Kanger, "I move that the following selected applications from the list on the provided spreadsheet be eligible for ranking this year: 23-138, 23-170, and 23-172.

Discussion: None.

Voting Aye: Macy, Quandahl, Kanger, Davidson

Abstain: McCoy Absent: Andersen

4 Voted Aye. 1 Abstained. Motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Quandahl, seconded by Mr. McCoy, "I move that the following selected applications from the list on the provided spreadsheet be eligible for ranking this year: 23-102, 23-117, 23-124, 23-153, and 23-179.

Discussion: It was noted that three reviewers approved all 12 eligibility criteria and one abstained, giving the projects in the motion a majority approval status.

Voting Aye: McCoy, Quandahl, Kanger, Davidson

Abstain: Macy Absent: Andersen

4 Voted Aye. 1 Abstained. Motion carried.

Chairman Davidson reported the Grants Committee would present its eligibility recommendations on November 3, 2022, to the NET Board.

5. Next Meeting

Thursday, December 8, 2022, at 1:30 PM, Ferguson House, 700 South 16th Street

6. Adjourn

Chairman Davidson adjourned the meeting at 1:54 PM.

Karl L. Elmshaeuser, Executive Director